East Tyrone GP Race Report

etccgp smallThe first running of the newly named East Tyrone GP was held in glorious sunshine. The principal club sponsor KDM Hire now becoming the sponsor of this event. With a bouncy castle, tuck shop and music at the start / finish area there was a very relaxed carnival atmosphere enjoyed by competitors and spectators alike.

There was a full days racing planed with U14, U16, Masters and Ladies in the morning followed in the afternoon by A1/A2, A3 and A4. A massive thank you to all East Tyrone CC members for providing Marshals, car drivers, catering, sign on crew, those that brought food, Noel and Peter for set up of start / finish area and anyone else who helped in any way - it takes everyone to do their bit to make this event run so smoothly. Thank you Dany Blondeel and your Belgium Project team for providing photos, Ian Barfoot for the photo finish and the Loup GAA for the use of hall and car parking. Thanks also to the residents and farming community living on or around the circuit for your cooperation in facilitating this annual event, it’s very much appreciated.

East Tyrone CC racing members did not disappoint either with results in every race.

U14   1st girl Ellie Kelso
U16   3rd James Glasgow
Masters  10th Colin Ramsay
Ladies  5th Ann McFarland
A1/A2  4th Harvey Barnes
A3   5th Richard Archer
A4   7th Richard Brown
A4   9th Steven Wensley

Very well done to all involved.


1 Angus Fyffe Omagh Wheelers CC
2 Darnell Moore Caldwell Cycles
3 Alan Bingham Chuculainn CC
4 Harvey Barnes East Tyrone CC
5 Lydsay Watson Powerhouse Sport
6 David Watson Bikehouse CC
7 Ciaran McVeigh Phoenix CC
8 Ali Gribbon Carn Wheelers
9 David Hamilton North Down CC
10 Mark Buchanan Caldwell Cycles

1 Brendan Flalnigan Powerhouse Sport
2 John Morton Harps CC
3 Adam Ward Powerhouse Sport
4 Conor Devlin Island Wheelers CC
5 Richard Archer East Tyrone CC
6 Gerald Scullion Carn Wheelers
7 Luke McMullan Ballymena RC
8 Nigel Watt Bann Vally CC
9 Ciaran Donnelly Termon Wheelers
10 Ben McCombe Unattached

1 Gareth O'Neill Newry Wheelers
2 Michael Fox Newry Wheelers
3 Philip Doyle Killinchy
4 Brenda Doherty Sadle Rock CC
5 John Hilditch Ballymena RC
6 Mark McCann Harps CC
7 Richard Brown East Tyrone CC
8 Brendan Carey Phoenix
9 Steven Wensley East Tyrone CC
10 David Henderson Dromara CC

Masters Race
1 James McConnell Ballymena RC
2 Tommy Wilson Ballymena RC
3 James McCusker Orchard CC
4 Gerard Farrell Clogher Valley
5 Brian Hannon Banbridge
6 Brendan Kirk North Down CC
7 Tom Henry North Down CC
8 Ronnie Massey Iveagh
9 David Burnside Dromara CC
10 Colin Ramsey East Tyrone Cc

Ladies Race 
1  Claire McElwaine Pheonix
2  Laura Blair Ballymena RC
3 Jane Wilkinson Bann Wheelers 
4 Maeve McKenna Clogher Valley CC
5 Ann McFarland East Tyrone CC

U14 Race
1 Odhran Doogan Powerhouse Sport
2 Adam McKeever AAA
3 Sorly Owens Fisher Omagh Wheelers
4 Darren Raffety Island Wheelers
5  Conor Gallagher Errigal CC
6  Peter Steele Ballymoney CC
7 Joseph Owens Omagh Wheelers
8  Johnnie McAuley Madigan
9 Scott Roberts McConvey Cycles
10  Shea O'Kane Phoenix

1st Girl   Ellie Kelso East Tyrone Cc
2nd Girl  Maria McAllister Island Wheelers

U16 Race
1 Daniel Graham North Down Cc
2  Tiernan Convery Termonneen
3  James Glasgow East Tyrone CC
4  Cathal Gallagher Errigal
5  Ciaran Dixon Pheniox
6  Dylan Trainor AAA
7  Thomas Warke Ballymoney CC
8  Aidan Kelly Omagh Wheelers
9  Chris Donald Madigan
10  Kyle Fleming Ballymoney CC

 A gallery of pictures courtesy of the Belgian Project can be viewed here.